On the hook this week…

8 Oct

I have stumbled across and fallen in love www.mypicot.com.  For weeks I’ve dreamed about these patterns while brushing up on my diagram symbols.  Last night I finally sat down with one the patterns and tried my hand at crocheting by a pattern instead of written instructions.  (Pattern #2030, Openwork & Lace)  I was surprised to find that it was not difficult at all!  I would have liked some notation as to the number of chains in the foundation chain, but otherwise it was a snap.  (I *may* have counted the chain symbols for the foundation chain more than a few times.  *cough, cough*)  I am also finding that I really enjoy working with super fine yarn.  Here I am using Bernat Handicrafter Crochet Thread in Fresh Fern.  The recommended hook size is 1.75 mm.  However, I went with an US Size D, 3.25 mm hook.  I’ll work my way down to the 1.75 mm once I’ve gotten better control over super fine yarn.  Baby steps, folks.  Baby steps.  ;]

(You may also notice that this lovely little swatch is positioned on top of my knees in my car.  It has turned cool here in Oklahoma which means that I spend most of my lunch hours in my car crocheting and listening to a book on tape.  My coolness knows no bounds.)

One Response to “On the hook this week…”

  1. stitchedupmama October 8, 2012 at 5:55 PM #

    What a great way to spend your lunch hour! Love the stitch and the colour; looking good … =D

Leave a Reply

