Visiting an old friend…I-40 East

10 Jun

Click to enlarge

Tomorrow morning Jordan, Jaden, Fisher and I will strike out on the road once again long before the sun even considers coming up.  However this time we won’t be driving all the way to Georgia.  It’s the kids time to see their Dad, so we’ll be meeting him halfway in Memphis. 

Fortunately for Jordan and I, we will only have to drive 8 hours tomorrow.  The kids however will transfer over to their dad’s truck and continue on for an additional 8 hours.  My poor babies. 

And I call them my babies not because they are particularly young , they are 6 & 8 now, it’s just that this is their first time away from me for such an extended period of time.  Six whole weeks.  I know, I should live it up.  Enjoy my time as a child-free adult.  And I’m sure I will for a few days.  However I’ll miss the morning rush of getting them ready for the day.  I’ll miss Fisher begging for just a little bit more breakfast because his stomach is surely the size of Texas.  And I’ll miss trying to tame Jaden’s wild bed-head. 

I am surely pitiful today.  So, here’s to summer and all that it holds.  Hopefully it will pass quickly and without too many tears. 

2 Responses to “Visiting an old friend…I-40 East”

  1. Aunt Glenda June 11, 2011 at 7:30 AM #

    They will be fine, they will have a great time, I do undersdtand how u feel, I went thur the same emotions the first summer we lived in Va and the kids went off to visit. Was a suprise to me they could survive w/o me. You two enjoy this time it is shorter than u think
    Luv ys
    Aunt Glenda

  2. Mimi June 10, 2011 at 1:36 PM #

    I am excited to get to see them. We are looking forward to it. Don’t worry Mom…the time will pass quickly and they will be back home again. Ya’ll be careful! Hugs to my munchkins!

Leave a Reply

