…oh, it will come around

24 May

Well, you’ll be relieved to know that I finally got my landlord to answer his phone last night.  However, I would not suggest what lengths I had to go to for him to answer his phone.  But, if you’re feeling “froggy” and have a “what the hell” attitude, then by all means…follow these simple steps:

  1. As already stated, you need to have been without air conditioning for at least 48 hours.  This is key.  There is no better catalyst in existence that can really get your blood pumping than lying in a pool of your own sweat for two days.
  2. This step is optional, but it seems to have worked for me: You may want to consider having trouble with your breaker box.  I, for instance, lost power to the second story of my house for a full 24 hours.  This along side a broken A/C unit really “frosted my lily.”
  3. …this is THE most important step:  Have your upstairs shower leak through the floor and flood through to your downstairs ceiling/bookcase.  It’s best if your extensive DVD/Blu Ray collection is in harms way.  Like mine.  I spent an hour on the floor with my husband last night hand-drying all of our movies.  It was awesome. 
  4. Finish things off with a crack in your ceiling measuring anywhere from one foot to two yards long.  This way all the water that has culminated between floors has somewhere to go.  Like onto your coffee table.    
  5. Finally, call your landlord every five minutes until he is filled with so much guilt that he has to answer.  Once you get him on the phone, don’t forget to mention the large sum you paid out of pocket to have his air conditioning unit repaired.  It’s a nice touch.

 

* See your landlord for details.  Results may vary.

One Response to “…oh, it will come around”

  1. Jennifer May 25, 2011 at 12:09 PM #

    Please tell me he is reimbursing you and then kowtowing a few times. What a lousy way to leave a renter.

    Also, if it were me, I’d be likely to leave a little note for future tenants. In permanent marker on the wall, that is.

Leave a Reply

