Timeshare for time?

4 Mar

Fisher discovers one of his favorite insects on the top of Mount Scott

(Yes…Fisher needs a haircut.  He says it’s getting big.  I agree.)  Anywho…

Twice a school year each of the kids have a Parent/Teacher conference to discuss their progress and to plan for the coming months.  They’ve always been pleasant ordeals full of artwork and scrawling letters on lined paper.  However, this week’s conference with Fisher’s teacher was not so pleasant.  It turns out that Fisher is falling behind.  He has yet to make any progress since the beginning of the school year.  These are words that no mother wants to hear.  What do you do?  Is it your fault?  How ever will you get your child caught up in so little time?  I have been in the state of near panic since the conference on Wednesday.

Thankfully his teacher and I have worked out a plan.  Firstly he needs his vision checked.  As I mentioned yesterday, he appears to be having serious problems with eye strain.  His lack of progress could simply be due to his inability to see letters/words properly.  Secondly, his teacher is going to work more with him one-on-one at school.  I am hoping this extra time just for him will be the push he needs.  And thirdly I will start working with him at home.  Kindergarten usually means no homework.  However now he will start working with me for an hour each night.  There are some excellent materials available on the web and in local stores.  Turning this “homework” time into something enjoyable instead of something loathsome will be a challenge.

Not only does he need to improve academically, he also needs to work on building self-confidence.  He’s terribly shy in group setting and I am starting to think that this could be playing a part in his not applying himself in the classroom.  Thus homework time needs to be a fun time as well.  Oh…and then there’s his sister, Jaden.  She’s got homework as well.  Fractions are currently her sticking point.  Anyone want to guess how hectic evening have become at our house?

I cannot understand how most moms do it.  I work 9-5, come home and cook, clean up, get children bathed, do homework, get them off to bed and then collapse into bed myself.  Laundry?  What’s that?  Dishes?  Who has time for them?  What about a few minutes for myself?  That’s a negative.  I am simply two hours short on time each day.  I have now become envious of those stay at home moms.  Those moms who have plenty of time to keep their houses in order and laundry taken care of.  With that out of the way, they have the time and energy to devote to their children’s at home education.  Le sigh.

(Well, at least I like to think that they do.)

So this week has been a challenging one.  Fisher is meeting with the optometrist on Monday.  Hopefully we can get his vision corrected while simultaneously finding the perfect pair of glasses that can stand up to Fisher’s energy and young age.  Oh how I hope those glasses exist.

2 Responses to “Timeshare for time?”

  1. amy lynn titus March 6, 2011 at 12:00 PM #

    Ok, I’m not gonna lie. I had to chuckle at you being envious of stay at home moms, because often times I am envious of the working moms who get out of the house and are able to spend some time AWAY from their kids and with adults. In my mind the working moms are a bit more sane and are living THE life! I guess the grass always seems greener on the other side. :) And even though I stay at home I have yet to find time to do laundry and dishes! Gah! Maybe we should both hire a maid… LOL :)

    I hope it gets better for ya! I am still in the toddler/newborn phase so I havent had to conquer homework yet. I am not so much looking forward to that taking up my evenings!

    • Raine March 6, 2011 at 9:13 PM #

      I was thinking of you as I wrote that post and was pretty sure you’d say exactly what you did. [laugh] You’re right. The grass is always greener on the other side. I wouldn’t trade it for the world, watching the kids grow academically, but it does make for one tired mom at the end of the day. And, to be honest, I probably still wouldn’t do as much laundry as a should if I were at home. :] As soon as someone decided to be my maid for free, I think I’ll have it made.

Leave a Reply

