The Intruding Boogie Man

8 Dec

Being a parent makes me realize how many child-like tendencies I still posses.  Take for instance what happened at 1AM the other morning:

Jordan had just come to bed, which had woken me up.  Since I was up, I decided to make a preemptive strike against the call of nature.  Because I am cool like that.  As I headed back to the bedroom from the bathroom, the hallway light flicked on.  It couldn’t be Jordan, because he was in bed.  So what did my brain jump to?  An intruder.  Or the boogie man.  Or an intruding boogie man.  [gasp]  Horrific, right?  Right. 

So I ran.  I ran and jumped into bed and crouched there like a caged animal waiting for evil to strike.  Jordan, of course, was perplexed by my antics. 

“What is wrong with you?”

“The hallway light just turned on.”

“And….?”

“…and something is out there!!” 

And with that last line I dove under the bedsheet…which is the surest line of defense…for a four-year-old. 

As I sat there shaking under the sheets, Fisher appeared complaining of a stomach ache.  Oopsies.  [nervous laugh]  I may have temporarily forgotten that I had children.  Surely if someone is lurking about the hallway in the middle of the night it is an evil creature from under my bed.  Eh-heh.  ;]

I tended to his needs and sent him back to bed.  As I was once again settling into bed for the night, Jordan burst our laughing. 

“Did you really think a bed sheet was going to protect you from a bad guy?!”

“Um….yes?” 

2 Responses to “The Intruding Boogie Man”

  1. Aunt Glenda December 9, 2010 at 12:33 AM #

    I am here by myself, bedsheets are protecting me tell him :):):)

  2. Amber December 8, 2010 at 5:48 PM #

    *shaking head* jordan just doesn’t understand!! hahahahaha.

Leave a Reply

