Jaden

3 Dec

Jaden turns 8 years old tomorrow.  Eight.  That’s two years away from double digits.  And hormones.  And I don’t want to even know what else.  [siiiigh]  Where did time go?  Apparently someone has fed it miracle gro…without my consent.  [tisk, tisk]

She is definitely her own person.  Completely unlike myself, she has never really gotten into Barbie’s or baby dolls.  In fact I am still not sure what she is into.  Science-y stuff?  I believe that we have entered the “Hands-On, I-want-to-make-stuff” phase of childhood.  She is independent and outgoing and I could not be more proud of her.

To celebrate her special day tomorrow, I made cupcakes to take to her class today.  Since Fisher had dirt cupcakes with gummy worms on them, I decided to take a different, more feminine route with Jaden.  (But not too feminine…she can’t stand the Disney Princesses.  Who can blame her?  They’re always getting into some kind of trouble.)  [wink]

Ahhh, ice cream cone cupcakes.  Awesome.  Adorable.  And a downright pain in the arse to make.  Do they want to stand up while you bake them?  Negative.  Do you really think you know where the 2/3 full line is on an ice cream cone?  You don’t.   And unless you’ve had some serious experience with a piping bag, you’re not going to achieve cute, icing swirls that are reminiscent of soft serve cones.  And don’t even get me started on the transportation issue.  How does one transport these to school?  Let’s just say you’ll be spending a lot of time with some cardboard and box cutter.  Talk about homemade.  [whew]

Despite all of my complaints, they did turn out to be pretty cute and the kids at school flipped when they saw them.  And that’s what counts.  [smile]

Happy Birthday, Jaden.  Mommy loves you and hopes that you have a fantastic day tomorrow!  (Starting with Lunch at Red Lobster…because she’s got expensive tastes.)  ;]

2 Responses to “Jaden”

  1. Aunt Glenda December 4, 2010 at 9:04 AM #

    Eight Years Old No Way She was just a baby yesterday, Your cupcakes look beautiful, so proud of you. Tell them both Happy B/D from Aunt G I miss them a lot.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes « Bad, with Conviction - December 18, 2012

    […] for Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes for her classroom celebration.  I instantly had horrific flashbacks of the last time I made these but resolved to improve upon the last experience.  Surely these cupcakes would not steal my sanity […]

Leave a Reply

