Tumble Dry Low

27 Oct

Continuing with the theme of “What I Did in Georgia,” let’s talk about cotton.

Cotton!  Could you imagine a more exciting topic?  I daresay that you could.  The wispy, white stuff is everywhere.  Heck, I’m wearing it tip to toe right now.  (Take that, polyester!)

Let me explain…

The beauty of traveling back home for a four-day visit is that you are guaranteed to never get bored.  And if you’ve got as much family to visit as I have, then you’ll probably scamper about in an almost frenzied panic to make sure that you see every relation that you have.  Thus said, I went to see my paternal grandparents last Saturday.    Their house and adjoining farm are situated in the heart of a small farming community.  During the fall there is cotton as far as the eye can see.  The land is transformed into a swaying mixture of maroon, green and white as the cotton fields bloom and then fade away to leafless stalks.  The air is thick with the scent of defoliant, which signals the oncoming harvest.  I absolutely adore it.  My childhood is dotted in weekends spent huddled in a cotton trailer at my grandparents farm.  It was simple, cheap fun that was unrivaled in possibilities.  The cotton trailer could be  a cave in which to hide or an Eskimo haven when you decided to be one.

Cotton season is something I have always wanted my children to experience.  It was such a magical time of year for me as a child…almost like Christmas, but without the presents.  So when we arrived at my grandparents last week, the kids struck out on an adventure in the cotton field that runs along their house.  Jaden and her cousins picked and played and acted silly as they made their way across the field.  Fisher, however, took the business of picking cotton seriously.  He sequestered himself to one corner of the field and picked cotton as if he were panning for gold.

After thirty minutes the children retired from the field to the back porch to sift through their bulging bags.  They were delighted and pleased with their work and couldn’t wait to make something of it.  I plan to turn their cotton into teddy bears like my grandmother did for me when I was young.  It should prove to be an exciting weekend project for us all.

One Response to “Tumble Dry Low”

  1. Mimi October 27, 2010 at 1:36 PM #

    Sweet pics

Leave a Reply

