Basketball Belly

12 Oct

 

Click To Enlarge

 

Yes, the T-Shirt ghost is back.  I know that I showed off one yesterday, but they are just too darn adorable to not show case again.  I get to see these smiling, ghostly faces every morning and evening on my way to and from work.  I am going to be sad once Halloween is over.  Maybe the kids can make Christmas-themed lawn gnomes next…hmm.  *stroking imaginary mustache*

Speaking of gnomes, while searching online for Halloween costumes for the kids, I came across a Travelocity Roaming Gnome costume.  I am secure enough in myself to know that it is nerdy.  However, if I had money to burn, I’d totally be a gnome this year.  Heck, some website even offer the costume in children’s sizes.  How awesome would that be?!  Hello, we’re a family of lawn gnomes.  (I can hear my husband’s eyes rolling now.)  Of all the creepy critters and ghastly ghouls that are sure to show up at your door this year, I bet you won’t be seeing any lawn gnomes.  I take a moment of silence for your loss.

Of course I can’t really talk.  I’ve never really been one to dress up for Halloween now that I’m older.  In fact, the only time I’ve dressed up since I was a kid was when I was pregnant with Fisher.  It was AWESOME.  I was eight months pregnant and my belly was perfectly round like I’d decided to wear a kick-ball under my shirt for a few months.  If you’d seen my from behind, you wouldn’t have even know that I was pregnant.  My belly being the round shape that it was made for the perfect Halloween costume.  Dressed all in black with a basketball net stitched to my shirt and a felt basketball covering my belly I was a walking, talking, and slightly hormonal basketball goal.  It was pretty sa-weet.  I was pretty proud of myself and Fisher didn’t seem to mind in the least.  That is until people wanted to dribble the basketball on my shirt.  Um…sorry dudes.  There’s a baby in there and I’m sure that he does not approve.  In fact, I’m pretty sure if he had a whistle in there, he’d call a personal foul on you right now.

Belly dribbling aside, it was my crowning achievement of Halloween.  Since then I have not been able to top that idea.  What does an un-pregnant woman dress up as these days?  I am certainly mature enough to avoid any costume description that includes the words naughty, sexy or bad.  The time for fishnet stocking has long passed me by.

One Response to “Basketball Belly”

  1. Mimi October 12, 2010 at 10:20 AM #

    Ha Ha….I last dressed up when Ryan was 7 and Shauna 10 as a Harlequin Clown…lol. I loved dressing up for Halloween. But its been forever ago now … sigh…Dress up have fun….you will enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

