Going on a spider hunt

4 Oct

So…how was your weekend?  Mine was awesome.  OU beat Texas (Oooooo…U!) and the kids and I finally got photographic proof of spider-zilla.  What more could a person ask of a weekend?  A song!  It went something like this:

“I’m going on a spider hunt, going on a spider hunt.  Gonna find some legs…find some legs!”

Over the past week all of the yellow butterflies have disappeared only to be replaced by enormous spiders.  The blasted things are everywhere.  Want to walk your dog?  Well, take precautions.  There are giant spiders about and they love to spin their webs across the sidewalks.  I’m not sure what they’ll do when they finally catch a full-grown adult in their web, but I don’t want to be around when it happens.

This one is my favorite.  It’s the splash of red on his legs that really screams “Danger!”  The kids went with me on my photographic spider hunt and it was rife with nervous giggles and out-right screams of terror.  They loved it.  Of course, you can’t go looking for spiders without feeling like your skin is crawling.  I accidentally walked through this guys web and had the creepy-crawlies for the rest of the afternoon.

The newest addition to the local spider population is this guy.  He hangs out on the sign at the entrance of the neighboring addition.  He doesn’t do much, but really…he doesn’t need to do much.  Look at him.  He’s the size of a Volkswagen and just as stylish to boot.    I wonder what his MPG is on the highway?

So…who wants to come for a visit?  ;)

One Response to “Going on a spider hunt”

  1. Kelly October 4, 2010 at 12:12 PM #

    You are a braver soul than I am. I HATE Spiders!! Just looking at the pictures gives me the creeps. I can’t imagine having all those spiders that close. YUCK!

Leave a Reply

