I’ve been…Lemoned.

17 Sep

Have you ever created your own catch-phrase?  Or maybe you’ve taken a noun and changed it into a verb.  Kind of like Google.  How did that suddenlybecome a verb?

“What is the capital of Nebraska?  Google it.”

(Of course I like to take it a step further and change “Google” into an innuendo…because my family is immature that way and I can’t help myself.

“Wanna google?”  *eye brow wiggle*

As I child, my mom turned my sister’s name into something else entirely.  Wren was quite prone to vomiting.  If we ate out, she puked.  If she ate dessert, she puked.  If we took a car trip, she puked.  It was quite amazing actually.  She vomited so much during our childhood that soon her name became synonymous with throwing up.

“Oh…I ate too much.  I think I’m gonna Wren!:  *cue the barfing noises*

Sorry, Sis.  I’m sure you didn’t want this documented for all the world to read.  But you live a 1,000 miles away and will surely cool down before you get to me.  ;)

Click To Enlarge

I air out this dirty laundry to segue into my new Noun turned Verb:  Lemon.  I have a dachshund named Lemon.  She is the most loving and affection dog under one foot that you’ve ever met.  If she ever escapes her harness on a walk, I don’t have to worry.  As soon as I get within five feet of her, she drops to the ground and rolls over in anticipation of having her belly rubbed.  It would be pathetic if it wasn’t so darn cute.

She loves nothing more than sitting in someones lap.  She lives for the lap.  Which is all good and well until you’re sipping on a hot cup of coffee.  Then she strikes.  Without fail, if you’re sitting and sipping on coffee, Lemon magically appears out of nowhere to dive-bomb your lap.  Of course, her aim is off and she crash lands into your cup of coffee instead.  Ahhh…nothing like the feeling of scorching hot liquid on your thighs in the morning.  Mmm, mmm, good.

Just this morning my mother-in-law and myself were Lemoned.  I’m considering installing a dachshund radar in all the coffee mugs in the house.  This way we have at least a 30 second warning before impact.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I need to go change.  My shirt smells like hazelnut breakfast blend.

3 Responses to “I’ve been…Lemoned.”

  1. Mimi September 17, 2010 at 12:40 PM #

    cute…

  2. Raine September 17, 2010 at 10:44 AM #

    At least I didn’t mention that one fated Valentine’s Day. ;)

    Love you, seestor.

  3. Wren September 17, 2010 at 9:54 AM #

    I could strangle you if you weren’t so far away…

Leave a Reply

