Stomach “Virus”

14 Sep

The kids have been back in school for almost a month.  And during these past thirty days I’ve been waiting for the first of what I am sure will be many phone calls.  Well, that phone call finally came yesterday.  The school nurse.  Oh, we will become very close.  We’ll be on a first name basis by Thanksgiving and possibly planning our spring breaks together by March.  Yes, the school nurse always ends up with my number on speed dial.

The school nurse called me yesterday to let me know that Jaden had been sick in the bathroom and that I needed to pick her up.  I arrived at the school within ten minutes to find Jaden looking sheepish and the nurse looking rather ragged.  Apparently there was a stomach virus sweeping across the Elementary School and Jaden was one of the countless victims.  She was pitiful and quiet on the ride home and snuggled up on the couch with me as we watched “Sleeping Beauty.”  She was the picture of ill-health until I got up and fixed myself a snack.

“I want a snack!”  “How about some fruit chews?”

Ahhh.  The truth will set you free.  When has anyone with a stomach virus begged for fruit snacks?  Never.  After being denied everything but a glass of water, she figured out that the jig was up.  And once we’d picked up Fisher from school and returned home, she was bouncing off the walls without a care in the world.  Yes, jumping up and down at a frenzied pace will cure even the most upset stomach.

It is going to be a loooong school year.

Jaden.  Need I say anything more?  I love her to death.  My only daughter.  My first-born.  My eye spasm in the night.  I am sure that she is just like every other girl her age…it’s just that no one informed me what little girls we like when I had one.  Aren’t the made of sugar and spice?  Everything nice?  With just a teaspoon of mischief?  Oops!  That’s it.  I must have used the tablespoon instead.

Last year the school nurse called me because Jaden stated that, “…every time I close my eyes, I see things.  Images in my mind that scare me.”  *siiiiigh*  What must the nurse think of me?  What 1st Grader thinks up such an ailment?  It took me quite a while to assure the nurse that Jaden was indeed fine and was probably angling for attention and a quick trip home.  She humored me, but did not seem convinced.

I finally dragged it out of Jaden later that she had day-dreamd about an episode of Doctor Who.  Um…you could have worded that differently to the nurse.  That would have been nice.  Now Mommy is on a watch list for sure.

;)

2 Responses to “Stomach “Virus””

  1. Jennifer September 15, 2010 at 6:56 AM #

    Glad you are writing again. You write well. Am enjoying hearing about Oklahoma.

  2. Mimi September 14, 2010 at 10:28 AM #

    laughing til my eyes water! Oh my! That girl is a hoot! Must have needed some mommy and me time.

Leave a Reply

