Could it be?

9 Sep

Dude….I’m back!  I only took a two-ish month hiatus.  Not too bad…right?  I must confess I did not plan to stay away this long.  Preparing to move, moving and then settling in took a lot longer than I had planned.  However, I am fully settled and ready to start writing again.  (Collective sigh of relief….hopefully)

So, here we are.  Oooooklahoma.  Flat, windy and home of some of the best sunsets I’ve seen in my 20-something years.  I’ve dashed outside several times already to photograph the scenery/weather here.  We’ve already experienced our first big storm with only minimal damage.  Who knew 50-70 mph wind could be so exciting?

The one thing that I never noticed during my previous visits to OK was the number of oil rigs in the state.  They are everywhere.  There’s even one parked on the front lawn of the capital building.  The kids often take to counting oil rigs as we drive around.  Educational and fun!  What more could you ask for?

I’ve already started checking out the local landmarks, including the OKC Memorial. I was young when the bombing occurred and have never really thought about the enormity of it.  Once you’ve walked around the Memorial, however, you can fully grasp just how devastating that day was.

The most touching sight at the memorial was the chairs…especially the small chairs representing the children.  Jaden and Fisher were in awe of the concept.  It was sad yet interesting to see them trying to comprehend such  a terrible act.

Loss and sadness aside…Oklahoma has been awesome so far.  :)

2 Responses to “Could it be?”

  1. MiMi September 10, 2010 at 7:43 AM #

    Glad you are blogging again. Miss my gkids! Hugs and smooches for them both please!

  2. marilynn mims September 9, 2010 at 3:08 PM #

    The pictures are great; however, I sure do miss all of you. Tell everyone hello and tell Jaden and Fisher I love them.

Leave a Reply

