Pharyngitis with a side of an URI

22 Jul

So…I’ve been sick.  And I’ve packed.  And I’ve driven all over creation running errands.  Thus, this blog has been neglected.  However, I like to think of it as a cactus.  It’s able to go long periods without attention, yet still able to retain life.  (At least, that’s what I’m telling myself.) 

Who knew you could get Pharyngitis and an Upper Respiratory Infection in the middle of the summer?  I thought those diseases were strictly  restricted to the fall, winter and spring.  Apparently I was wrong.  Being under the weather has hampered my packing abilities along with a few other regular chores.  However, I’m on my way back to being well.  At least my body decided to betray me this week and not next week when we’ll be driving halfway across the country. 

Today I realized that I’ve only got a week left at my job.  With almost five years spent in the same office, it’s a bit sad to think about leaving it.  Don’t get me wrong, I will not miss the general public that I have to deal with every day.  However, my co-workers have become family to me and I’ll miss them greatly. 

Speaking of the general public, get a load of what I experienced this morning:

A sweaty, hairy, obese, rotten-toothed man staggered into our office this morning.  He had come to apply to rent a property and was wanting to explain his disability income.  Evidently he thought that showing me a copy of his disability statement wouldn’t be proof enough.  Oh no.  He pulled up his shirt, turned around and started to tug down on his shorts when I screamed in horror.  He begged me to let him show me his scars, but a screamed at him to put his shirt down.  I did NOT want to see that. 

Since then I’ve contemplated gouging out my eyes.  They were violated this morning, but they could come in handy later in life.  I decided that through therapy they might recover. 

Gag.

Did I really say that I will miss my job?  ;)

One Response to “Pharyngitis with a side of an URI”

  1. Alec July 22, 2010 at 11:48 PM #

    Your posts are rays of sunshine to my inbox. I love your blog. Good luck on your journey!

Leave a Reply

