The glory of cardboard

30 Jun

Moving?  Oh, it’s exciting and stressful at the same time.  I’m choosing to ignore the stressful parts for the time being.  However, I’ve been knee-deep in exciting all week.  Did you know that purchasing packing boxes makes my teeth sweat?  I was truly on the cusp of drooling last night as I was shopping for boxes.  Empty, cardboard boxes.  Some were even so exciting as to come with partitions inside of them.  How else could one organize her glassware when moving?  How have I made it through life thus far without knowing of the existence of box partitions?  In retrospect I realize that life without of specialized packing boxes is a life half-lived.  Welcome to the good life, Raine.  Ahh.

So excited was I to be shopping for boxes, that I even added an extra roll of bubble-wrap to my online shopping cart.  One can never have too much bubble wrap, as the Hubs has been happy to remind me.  Who knows, maybe when I’m done packing I can have a bubble-wrap stomping party with my closest friends and family.  How better to bond than through the demolition of bubble wrap?

With boxes on the way, I’ve been contemplating how I am going to organize all of my boxes once they have been packed and seal.  Just write on the exterior of the box a short summary of their contents or create a detailed inventory list?  Ooo, I think an inventory is too much fun to pass up.  My mild OCD is chomping at the bit.  Down, you crazy thing.  All in good time.  You’ll have your day in the sun.

However, with my packing plans in order, my thoughts now turn to what happens after I pack.  Drum roll, please.  Cleaning.  And I’m not just talking about the weekly cleaning I try to avoid each week.  Oh no, the deep-down, I’m-about-to-move kind of cleaning.  This is when you suddenly realize that there have been a thousand nooks and crannies that have hoarded away dust bunnies and stray dog hair.   I imagine that they’re like the mythical belly buttons that eat holes in peoples shirts.  Of course, ravenous belly buttons are a lot more terrifying to consider.

I’ll wait to plan my cleaning phase for another day.

2 Responses to “The glory of cardboard”

  1. Amber July 1, 2010 at 12:34 PM #

    i don’t know if i’ve told you the story or not, but i lay out a walkway at work of bubble wrap. i have a slight fetish….lol.

    i mean, that snapple commercial where the world is in bubble wrap – that is my dream world!!!!! i most certainly better be invited to the party!

  2. amy lynn titus June 30, 2010 at 9:15 PM #

    Oh my gosh. PLEASE invite me to the bubble wrap stomping party! Few things make me as happy as bubble wrap! hahaha

Leave a Reply

