Weekend 1.0

2 Jun

Oh, is the Memorial Day weekend over?  Evidently my blog didn’t get the notice.  Or maybe it’s because I was too busy watching Grey’s Anatomy reruns to sit down and write a post.  I’m going to blame it on a lack of notice.  *wink* 

Either way, I’m a day behind.  I’m sure you’ll recover somehow.

So, my extended weekend was a busy one.  Three birthdays, a family cookout & a trip to the theater to see “Shrek.”  (Oh Shrek, your grotesque green face makes my day.) 

My step-dad kicked off the weekend with his birthday celebration.  (He’s turning 70…shh.  It’s a secret.)  As you can tell by picture above, he was okay with turning 30-40.  It just sounds better that way.

His birthday luncheon turned into a day-long event full of cake, presents and a plethora of Chuck Norris jokes.  (I’ll pause so that you can roll your eyes.)  Give Chuck a break…he can’t help that he’s awesome.

He’ll be rounding off his birthday festivities tomorrow night with a free meal at my house.  (We have birthday weeks in our family.)  There’s no sense in letting a restaurant cook for him when I can handle it myself.  Sure I won’t be covered in flair, but at least I’ll have clean hands.  (Although, a restaurant would probably give him a free ice cream sundae, whereas I will not.)  Hmm…maybe he should rethink this?  ;)

3 Responses to “Weekend 1.0”

  1. Wren June 2, 2010 at 7:37 PM #

    No free ice cream, but I will be providing fresh home made pecan pies!!! :D

  2. Raine June 2, 2010 at 2:38 PM #

    That’s actually his son, Jimmy Jr. But, now that you mention it,he does look a lot like your dad. :)

  3. amber June 2, 2010 at 2:34 PM #

    okay, i had to look like 5 times because i thought that was my dad in the bottom left picture. WOW! that was creepy.

    anyways, tell daddy jimmy i said happy 29th birthday!! =]

Leave a Reply

