It’s alive!

13 May

So, guess what came in the mail today?  Go ahead, guess:

Who Knew That They Would Survive Bubble Wrap?

Lady Bugs.  1,500 of them.  Fifteen Hundred Lady Bugs…in bubble wrap.  My mind is having trouble processing such an idea.

Who knew you could mail bugs? 

I knew.  My Mother-In-Law called me last week to let me know that they were on their way.  Seriously…I have the best Mother-In-Law in the world.  Has your Mother-In-Law ever sent your kids Lady Bugs?  Of course not.  It’s the coolest gift ever.  Just imagine:  Jaden and Fisher staring in delight as their army of Lady Bugs overtake our backyard.  It will be glorious. 

Of course, when they first arrived at my office today, they were a little less glorious and tad more creepy.  You could actually hear them through the bubble wrap!  (Agh!!)  It lives!  It may have taken me a solid 5 minutes to get brave enough to open the package, but I did eventually remove their container from the shipping material.  It wasn’t long before I called Jordan to come and get them.  The sound of their tiny legs crawling was freaking me out.  Oh, I love lady bugs.  However, having 1,500 of them crawling about your desk as a bit much.  So, Jordan came and got them:

Oh, geez. The container is see through?!

I know.  Totally cool, but a tad unsettling at first sight.  Look at all of those legs…!

Holy Cow! You can hear them!

I know!  You can hear them!  Crawling and crawling.  Crrrrazy. 

The kids will love them. 

Tune in tomorrow for the great reveal.  I cannot wait to see what 1,500 lady bugs marching across my lawn will look like. 

(Probably like the coolest thing ever.)

3 Responses to “It’s alive!”

  1. Alec May 13, 2010 at 1:09 PM #

    Such a cool spring time thing to do….. I remember when I was a kid, I had a praying mantis set. There were tons of them everywhere for weeks afterward. Good luck! I can’t wait to hear about your experiences with them. The kids will love them :)

    • Raine May 13, 2010 at 3:10 PM #

      A praying mantis set?! That is too cool. I’ve only seen a few in my lifetime. I can’t imagine a lot of them running around the lawn.

  2. Anonymous May 13, 2010 at 12:48 PM #

    i need you to count them to make sure they all made it!! :P

Leave a Reply

