Laundry Fail

28 Apr

Well, I’ve fallen off the wagon again.  The laundry wagon.  I can’t seem to wash, dry, and put away a load of clothes all at one time.  I like to wash and dry them and then let several loads of clean laundry ferment together on my couch before hanging them up.  My laundry is very social.    

After the kids were put to bed last night, I decided to tackle the mountain of clothes that had grown to dangerous heights.  (The only reason I did so was because Jordan agreed to sit in the living room with me while I did it.  I hate to fold laundry by myself…because I’m a dork.)  It only took a half episode of Mythbusters to get everything put away.  Impressed with my laundry skills, I decided to go ahead and wash a load of jeans.  Fisher was running low on “cool” pants and I was feeling frisky.    

That frisky feeling vanished when I went to throw the jeans into the dryer.  The dryer was drying, but it wasn’t tumbling.  Nooo!  *shaking a dryer sheet at the sky*  Curse you, GE!    

After a few minutes of mourning, I did the only thing I could:   

In Lieu of a Clothes Line

 

I converted the library into a drying station.  (I know, I’m a genius.)  My entire library is draped in damp denim.  It’s kind of impressive, but mostly sad.  I even entertained erecting a clothes line in my back yard to conserve energy…but only for a few minutes.  Can you imagine clean/damp laundry coated in pollen?  How about a Corgi and a Dachshund running about my backyard with unmentionables clutched in their teeth?  No, a clothes line would never do.    

I felt confident that my spur of the moment solution would be effective.  Draped across furniture the correct way with the ceiling fan set on high should do the trick in a couple of hours.  Wrong.  This morning the jeans were mostly dry…and by mostly I mean everything but the crotch.  No one wants a damp crotch.    

Alas, the children and I had to dress up today…in khakis of all things.  (The shame!)  I flipped the jeans while I was at home for lunch.  I’m hoping that my treating them like pancakes, they’ll be dry by this evening.  The bad thing is that clean socks are running low in our household.  Either the dryer will magically repair itself tonight, or we’ll all be sporting sandals tomorrow.

2 Responses to “Laundry Fail”

  1. Raine April 28, 2010 at 1:58 PM #

    Thanks, Alec! I truly appreciate it. :)

  2. Alec April 28, 2010 at 1:33 PM #

    I’ve been following your blog for a while and I just want to say, I think your HILARIOUS. I love your writing!

    Keep up the awesome work.

    -A

Leave a Reply

