(Drum Roll, Please)

2 Feb

My Father-in-Law is working on piecing together my family tree.  (Pretty awesome, if I do say so myself.)  He is doing an amazing job and the entire family is eager to see what he uncovers. 

To help with filling in the blanks, I got the honor of looking through my Grandmother’s Family Bible this past weekend.  My Grandfather bought it for her when she was pregnant with my dad and his sister.  It was the late 1950’s and it cost $75.  At the time, my Grandmother was annoyed that he would spend that kind of money when she was pregnant with twins.  I am so glad that he did, though.  The Bible is a treasure trove of information.  I am amazed by the amount of record keeping she has done so far.  Not only does she have a record dating back to 1768, but she also has a record of when she put down new carpet in her house.  (Wow.) 

Tucked away in the pages of her Bible were countless obituaries, newspaper articles & photographs.  Here’s one I found of her on her honeymoon.  Me-ow.  *wink* 

(Yes, I know that the composition of these pictures are not the best.  However, I had a lot to document, but not a lot of time.)

I have never given much thought to my ancestry, but all the sudden I find myself obsessed.  For instance, I can’t wait to take a trip to family cemetary this weekend.  (Hey, don’t knock it ’till you try it.) 

It’s interesting where life takes you.

One Response to “(Drum Roll, Please)”

  1. Sherri February 3, 2010 at 9:56 AM #

    MaMa is a hottie…I love her…wish she knew how often I think of her or just how much she made a difference in my life….you rock MaMa!

Leave a Reply

