In 1492 Columbus sailed the ocean blue…

25 Jan

It’s that time again.  Time for yours truly to set out on another adventure.  An adventure to expand my knowledge of the world around me.  (My, that sounds like a bad intro. from a teacher on the first day of school.)

Do you do that?  Wake up one morning and, out of the blue, decide to do something new?  “Ahh, I think I’ll learn how to use a pogo stick today.”  (Okay, maybe not something quite like that, but you get the picture.)  It’s that realization that you’ve got a limited amount of time on earth and that you want to make the most of it. 

This time I’ve decided to re-read the Constitution and try my best to understand it.  Sound exciting?  Not really, but it certainly sounds prestigious.  *laugh*  It’s been 7-ish years since I was in highschool and, as you can imagine, I remember little of the Constitution or of the Declaration of Independence for that matter.  (*gasp*  The horror!)  Yes, I know.  I’m not proud to admit it, but I plan to rectify the situation soon. 

How did all of this come about?  Blame it on the current state of our country.  (Geez, I sound like one of those 24/Hour news channels.)  I couldn’t help but wonder if this is what the colonist had dreamed of when they first became independent states?  Didn’t they break free to be on their own because Parliament had become too involved?

I most certainly do not want to start a political discussion here.  Believe me, I am not qualified.  (I hate to say.)  What I’m interested in is how we came to be an independent nation;  How America got started and what the long-term outlook was when the states were first established.

Thus, last night I busted out a book on the Constitution and started reading.  It was not a dreadful as I thought it would be.  I actually quite enjoyed it.  I found myself wishing that I’d had this level of enthusiasm in High School.  However, I didn’t get far.  I kept coming across historical events and documents that I had long ago learned about but had also forgotten.  The Federalist Papers, Common Sense by Thomas Paine…I’d forgotten everything!  (Yes, that really is a tragedy.)

So, I decided to put The Constitution aside for the time being and go all the way back to the beginning:

That’s right, Christopher Columbus.  Check out that handsome mug.  Ooo, he looks absolutely thrilled at the prospect of sailing the ocean blue.  I don’t plan to focus on him for long, but I want to get the full picture of how America came about.    

I’m hoping that by the time I get to the end of my historical foray I’ll have a better understanding of  America, of what it was intended to be and what it has become today.

This definitely tops my last spontaneous endeavor: crocheting.

Leave a Reply

