Yes, I’ve got kids. What made you ask?

10 Dec

It hit me today that I have children. 

I know, how have I gone seven years without noticing?  I’m not entirely sure. 

Well, let me rephrase that for you: I know that I have children.  I gave birth to them after all, and one doesn’t forget that.  What I am trying to say is that sometimes the things I come across in my house that scream, “Warning!  Children are in the area!” are so out there that it makes me pause. 

“Oh, that’s right.  This isn’t really my house, the kids just let me pretend that it is.”

I staggered through the dark into the bathroom this morning, fumbling for the light switch, to find this starting back at me when I opened my eyes:

Ah, had a another late night, did you?  What, did naked Barbie crash your pool party again?  Don’t blame me.  I’ve begged her to wear clothes, but she never listens.
I wonder what it is about Barbies that makes their clothes fall off?  Have you ever walked into a little girls bedroom to find fully dressed Barbies?  No.  They’re always naked.  Which, I can’t judge.  When I was younger, all of my Barbies “lost” their clothes within 24 hours of stepping out of their packaging.  I think her & Ken were “hanging out” at night while I slept.  *wink, wink, nudge, nudge*
But that’s beside the point…
It’s coming across scenes like this, a robot dog, a dinosaur and a naked Barbie chilling out in my sink, that makes me realize that nothing is sacred when you have children.   
3 Responses to “Yes, I’ve got kids. What made you ask?”

  1. Raine December 11, 2009 at 2:15 PM #

    The photograph was courtesy of my husband. I called him yesterday and said, "Honey, can you please take a picture of our bathroom sink and e-mail it to me? You will? Awesome."He's great that way. :)

  2. Amy Lynn December 11, 2009 at 2:05 PM #

    This makes my day. Toys have just begun to take over my world, but seeing what I have to look forward to makes me giggle.Great picture by the way! That is some great depth of field you have going on there! :)

  3. Wren December 10, 2009 at 6:38 PM #

    Tequila makes her clothes fall off….Don't you listen to country radio?! haha

Leave a Reply

