The Ace of Cakes, I am not.

7 Dec

This past weekend was full of birthday goodness for the kids.  Because a birth-DAY isn’t enough.  They had a birth-WEEK.  They’re just awesome that way. 

Anyhoo, with this level of birthdayness, a birthday party was in inevitable.  I have not yet reached the Mother Theresa level of motherhood, and I fear that I may not ever.  You see, I am not one of those mom’s who invite every member of their child’s class to their birthday party.  I love my children with all my heart.  I like them a LOT.  However, my unconditionaly love ends there.  I don’t think that my tender nerves could handle a house full of running, screeching children.  Soooo, it was family memebers only.  Ahhh.  Everyone there was 20 and over.  Now that’s my kind of birthday party.  (Well, with the exception of my niece…but I like to claim her as my own, so she’s exempt.) 

I decided not to go with a traditional cake this year.  Cakes are sooo last year.  *wink*  No, this year I went with cupcakes.  1) Cupcakes are just plain awesome.  2) They require no cutting and handing out.  Just peel and eat….like a banana.  3) They’re too darn cute.  Seriously, it’s like two cakes got together and had babies.  How cool is that?

With the help of a book my mom gave to me as an early Christmas present, I got to work on Saturday afternoon baking 36 cupcakes.  (FYI:  That is a lot of cupcakes)  My mom was kind enough to make the icing for my army of cake babies and even came over to ice them for me.  I’m not sure what it is about applyying icing to cake-like items.  I just don’t have that kind of skill.  Mine looked more like ogre-cakes than cup cakes.

In the spirit of “I Love Lucy,” my mom and I made our own assembly line and got to work.  She iced the cup cakes and I stacked and decorated them. 

Cupcakes are not easy to stack, just in case you where wondering.  They are the essence of squishy goodness and thus do not support weight well.  I say this to warn you that my cupcake-cake, though pretty darn cute, did lean to the side by quite a bit.  (Hopefully it will not be featured here.) 

Come on now, isn’t that cute?  It really made for some interesting shots when it came to blowing out the candles.
As my first foray into the world of cupcakes, I feel as though it went well.  I definitely couldn’t have done it without my mom’s expert piping skills.  (Thanks, mom!)
They were freakin’ delicous to boot.  (I should know, I had one at each meal until they were gone)  My mom’s icing recipe is amazing.  I would bathe in it if it wouldn’t make me all sticky.  Because, no one likes having their bedsheets stick to them, right?
One Response to “The Ace of Cakes, I am not.”

  1. Amy Lynn December 8, 2009 at 3:33 PM #

    LOVE those cupcakes. They look adorable and oh so yummy!! I think I may do cupcakes for Z's birthday next year, but I am going to need some icing and decorating tips from you and your mom! I am so not that creative! :)

Leave a Reply

