Th-Th-Th-Thanksgiving!

30 Nov

Thanksgiving!  It is by far my favorite holiday.  What’s that, you say?  What about Christmas?  Well, though Christmas is exciting, the beauty of Thanksgiving is that you get to spend quality time with family without the stress of buying presents.  Plus, there’s cranberry sauce.  I love cranberry sauce.  Just give me a can opener and a fork and leave me be.  Ahhh. 

(However, I did make Emeril’s cranberry sauce this year.  Jordan’s family has always made it and he loves it.  Since we didn’t get to see them this Thanksgiving, I thought it would be nice to have a part of them with us, even if it was just their cranberry sauce.  It was Deeee-lish!)

So, with homemade Cranberry Sauce in hand, we set out Thursday morning for our first Thanksgiving stop:  The Mims Family.  (….which is my Dad’s family, in case you’re not in the know.) 

Ooo, I feel a photo montage coming on!

While waiting for the food to finish cooking, Jaden & Fisher cruised around the farm.

Chloe decided she would travel around the farm by foot.  However, two year olds shouldn’t roam alone, so Uncle Jordan went and fetched her.  She was not happy about that.
Not wanting to dissappoint Chloe, Jordan got out the golf cart and took her for a spin around the farm.
Meanwhile, Marilyn was in the kitchen preparing for lunch.  When asked to, “Look like you’ve been working hard,” this is what she came up with.  Niiiice.
Jordan took advantage of the moment and snuck in a few bites of turkey.  Tisk, tisk.  *wink*
After everyone had ate to their heart’s content, we headed out to the cotton field by my grandparent’s house to let the kids pick cotton.  Cutness.  *smile*
Picking cotton was one of my favorite things to do as a kid and it thrills me to see my children doing the same.
I think my Dad and Grandparents were just as excited to watch them have fun as I was. 
With our pockets full of cotton, we set off for our next stop: The Anderson/Paulk Family.  (…which is my Mom’s side of the family.)

By the time we arrived, our second lunch of the day was almost ready.  Charles masterfully deconstructed the turkey with the moral support of my cousin, Demi.
Chloe & Fisher entertained themselves with Christmas toys while waiting to eat.  There’s nothing like a moving, singing Christmas toy to wake you up.  *wink*
Meanwhile, the rest of us circled around the food in the kitchen, waiting to pounce at the first signal.  (Nice look you’ve got going there, Wren)
And what Thanksgiving Day Blog isn’t complete with a statement of what I am most thankful for?: 
I am most thankful for the fact that I finally graduated from the kid’s table to the adult’s table.  Yessss!
2 Responses to “Th-Th-Th-Thanksgiving!”

  1. Amy Lynn December 2, 2009 at 4:24 PM #

    Aw lucky!! I have been moved from the kids table to the "kids with kids table". Still no adult table for me! I am just going to have to live vicariously through you. By the way… I am LOVING the place settings in that last picture.

  2. Wren December 2, 2009 at 1:25 AM #

    I move to have that heinous picture of myself removed! (Other than that…great blog. It's making me very hungry!)

Leave a Reply

