2012

25 Nov
After such a warm and fuzzy blog yesterday, I feel as though y’all probably need something a little more action packed for today.  Thus, I present to you:  Reasons Why I Love Natural Disaster Movies.  *drum roll, please*
Before I dive into a crazed speech about my love for mother nature’s rath, just let me say that I’m not crazy.  I don’t like fava beans with Chianti and I don’t make human skin jackets in my spare time.  I just admire the awsome power of nature.  So there.

On Sunday my cousin, Demi, and I went to see 2012.  I have been dying to see this movie.  Earthquakes, volcanos, tsunamis…does it get any better?  Give me a natural disaster movie and I will be a happy camper.  I’m not sure why I am so fascinated by this genre of film, but I can’t get enough of it.  There is something terrifyingly terrific about what the earth is capable of.  However, I am also a very anxious person.  I don’t handle tense moments with much grace and I fall apart if harm comes to a child, even if it’s in a fictional movie.  Thus, I spent most of the movie clutching my seat for support and/or crying like baby over children swept away by tsunamis and earthquakes.  I felt like I’d run the Boston Marathon by the time the movie was over. 

During a few particularly tense moments, I leaned over and asked my cousin if they were going to make it.  Turns out that she is one of those people.  The kind of person that won’t give in to the pleas of their fellow movie goer.  They want you to wait and find out for yourself.  Psh.  Didn’t she realize that I might burst with anxiety?  I could spontaneously combust right there in the theater and she’d have to clean up the mess.  Thankfully for her, I held it together and muched feverishly on a box of hot tamales she’d given me. 

I found comfort in the fact that nothing on the scale of what happened in the movie could ever happen in real life.  Though, the eruption of the Yellow Stone Volcano was spectacularly creepy.  Plus, John Cusack played a leading roll…quite possibly my favorite actor.  It almost makes me want to have a John Cusack marathon.  Grosse Pointe Blank, High Fidelity….is there anything better out there?  I think not.  *wink*  Ooo, guess what I’ll be doing this weekend?  :)

Leave a Reply

