Spectacles, ______, Wallet & Watch

18 Nov

The title is just for you, Mom.  Sorry, couldn’t bring myself to fill in the blank.  *wink*  However, I will give imaginary kudos to anyone who can fill in the blank.  *wink, wink, nudge, nudge* 

Okay, crass humor aside, let’s get on with things.  So, how shall I entertain you today?  How about a story of pitty and woe?  Woe is always exciting, right?

Last night, after the kids had gone to bed, Jordan was sawing logs on the couch and I was sitting in our over-sized chair crocheting a scarf.  (That’s right, I crochet.  I am all that is woman.)  Anyhoo, as time wore on, a great thirst came over me and I rushed to the kitchen to quench it.  (And low, God saw that it was good and smiled upon me.)  For some insane reason, I took off my glasses and put them on top of the ottomon where I thought my furry beast could not reach them.  Upon my return to the living room, I found that my glasses where missing.  Then, I heard it.  The sickening crunch of pastic & metal being chewed and liberally coated with canine slober.  The horror!  My poor glasses.  My poor $300+ rimless glasses.  The memories we’d shared.  The books we had read.  Never to be again.  (A moment of silence, please.)  Jordan woke up as I ran down the hall, screeching at Denny all the way.  Too late.  When we finally reached him, the ear pieces were demolished and the lenses were spotted with puncture wounds.  All I could think about were the countless discussions that I’d had with Jaden & Fisher about not leaving their toys were Denny could reach them.  I’m sure that they’d delight in the fact that I too had made such a foolish mistake.  However, I decided not to tell them.  Adults/Parents always follow the rules….right? 

This morning I stopped by the Optometrist to get a new pair of glasses, since my beloved pair had met with it’s untimely demise the night before.  I was quick about.  I’m not much for shopping & I’m pretty easy to please.  Thankfully, it only took an hour before my new glasses were ready.  I never realized how much I needed the darn things until I didn’t have them.  *Hand flung over my eyes in a dramatic fashion*

So, what do you think?  Classy, but with a bit of flare. Kind of like a mullet.  Business in the front, party in the back.  (Well, party on the sides that is.)
 
Let me mention that I’m also not much of a self-portrait taker.  I feel dorky about smiling big so I usually end up with a smirk instead.  Tis a nice little smirk, I think.  It’s kind of like the choice everyone has to make when they go to get their photo taken for their driver’s license.  Smile or no smile?  Look like a dork or look like an inmate?  Decisions, decisions.  :)
5 Responses to “Spectacles, ______, Wallet & Watch”

  1. Wren November 20, 2009 at 1:28 AM #

    Darn, and I was so excited too….

  2. Raine November 19, 2009 at 3:47 AM #

    Yes, you won a free pair of Testicles….no, wait. Sorry, I'm fresh out.

  3. Wren November 19, 2009 at 2:14 AM #

    TESTICLES!!!So, do I win a prize for filling in the mystery word? :D

  4. sherri November 19, 2009 at 1:46 AM #

    I think you look lovely….sorry about the glasses but I can so appreciate the title of your work. By the way I know the missing word! Loves!!!!!

  5. Amy Lynn November 18, 2009 at 8:25 PM #

    I like the little smirk you have going on. I cant smirk very well for the camera. I look ridiculous. So I always resort to the full fledged smile. Glad you got new glasses!!

Leave a Reply

