Close to You

18 Nov

“Why do birds suddenly appear every time you are near?  Just like me, they long to be close to you.”

For some reason I have the lyrics to “Close to You” stuck in my head.  It may be because The Carpenters are awesome, or it may be due to the fact that it looks like spring outside my window at work.  (Hmm, tough decision)  It’s 61 degrees outside, practically arctic by my standards, and yet flowers are blooming and birds are singing.  I can’t see the birds, but I imagine they are the little blue birds from Cinderella.  (I wonder if they’ll make me a sweet dress just like they did for her.  Probably not…darn) 
I want to post a picture of the flowers that are blooming, because I need help in identifying them.  However, I can’t snap a picture of them at the moment.  You see, there is this “cottage” behind my office where a thirty-something bachelor lives and I’m sure that he wouldn’t take too kindly to me documenting his blooms.  (If only I had a fancy camera like the paparazzi…I could document flowers from a mile away)  So, until I can sneak in a picture of them, let me narrow it down for you:  They’re pink with yellow stamens and they smell really good.  Oh, and they’re growing on a tree.  I hope that helps.  (Yeah, you’re welcome)

All seriousness aside, I have to tell you about my dog…as if y’all haven’t heard enough already.  I can’t help it, he oozes newsworthiness:

Denny is akin to Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde.  Over the course of the day he will see-saw between man’s best friend and man’s worst nightmare.  Which, now that I think about it, usually correlates with whether the kids are awake or not.  Jaden & Fisher bring out the worst in him.  Just their very presence induces a state of hyperness that is unrivaled by anything on earth.  They come home from school and spend the next few hours chasing him, teasing him and giggling him into a frenzy.  Then they go to bed, leaving Jordan and I with a furry beast to tame. 

So far, the only way we’ve found to calm him down is to chase him.  He lives to be chased.  He’ll hunker down on his haunches, toes vibrating with energy, just waiting for you to make a move towards him.  As soon as you so much as look in his direction, he explodes across the room, circling furniture at lightning speed.  That dog can corner on a dime.  I usually sit back and let Jordan do the chasing.  He is ever so good at it.  It’s a wonderful way to end the day, watching Jordan lunge at Denny as Denny races past his fingers and down the hall to hide and wait.  It’s never hard to find him; His rapid breathing always gives him away.  Jordan tries to sneak up on him, but Denny dodges his efforts and is gone again. 

This cat and mouse game usually lasts for about fifteen minutes.  I am always content to wait it out, enjoying the sound of Jordan’s call to arms and Denny’s nails digging in the carpet for traction.  All I lack is a bowl of popcorn.  *hint, hint, wink, wink* 

*gasp*  What luck!  Mr. Thirty-Something just left.  Now I can go take a picture of his flowers…
All right, all of you budding horticulturist out there, name that flower!  (Pretty please)
2 Responses to “Close to You”

  1. Anonymous November 20, 2009 at 12:49 AM #

    Errr,…uh,…this is your your nerves. If you try a Google image search for "Japonica camellias" you might find the answer to your mystery.

  2. sherri November 19, 2009 at 1:59 AM #

    Raine…this is your mother…the flower you have been admiring is a camelia…that is a camelia bush and they bloom this time of year. Camelias are one of my favorites also. They come in several varieties. I'm not sure of the name of this variety but it is beautiful. LOVES!

Leave a Reply

