Burnt Marshmallow

28 Oct

I am not a happy camper.  No, not I.  I am the camper who sits in poison ivy while putting on her shoes.  I am the camper who’s marshmallow falls in the fire before she can get it off of the coat hanger.  I am the camper who forgets to pack sunblock.  I am that camper today. 

I woke up in a bad mood.  For no reason.  Darn you, estrogen! 

Inexplicable moodiness usually passes in 2 to 4 hours, unless you happen across stimulants which exacerbate said moodiness.  Let’s just say that I was very stimulated today. 

The octogenarian with which I work had a very upset stomach today.  After ten minutes of trying to light the “special” candle that I keep at my desk, I gave up and started breathing through my mouth.    The entire point of breathing through your noise is so that the hundreds of tiny hairs in your nasal passage can filter out germs and other nastiness that may be floating about in the air.  By breathing through my mouth, I was fast tracking all of that germy goodness straight in to my lungs.  My poor lungs.  It was the lesser of the two evils.  It was just one of those days. 

Next came the, sadly typical, TMI tenant of the day.  Never do you want to hear the phrase, “…while I was wiping myself…” used in a sentence.  Why?  Really, why?  What have I done to deserve such mental trauma?  Being the dutiful employee that I am, I suffered through, what I consider to be, the most painful phone conversation of my life.  Not only did the woman explain her bathroom habits to me…in great detail…she also tacked on the fact that she had fallen off of the toilet as well.  Cheese & rice.  Where have you been?  Living under a rock?  Who says that kind of thing to a complete stranger? 

The rest of the day passed by in a painfully slow manner.  I could almost hear the clock on my computer monitor ticking off the seconds.  (Thankfully, Windows decided to omit that feature) 

Tonight, after the kitchen was cleared away and the kids were put to bed, I curled up on the couch with the hubs and my half angelic/half satanistic dog and watched an episdoe of “Fringe.”  Ahhhh.  There’s nothing like watching a disturbing/awesome sci-fi show to put one’s mind at ease.  It was a fitting end to less than perfect day.

Leave a Reply

