The "M" Word

26 Oct

Pst.  Guess what?  It’s Monday.  Shh.  I know.  I hate it just as much as you do. 

Actually, I detest going with the flow by joining the swell of other bloggers out there who are protesting this acursed day just as I am.  But, what can I do?  Protesting Monday’s existance is a long-held, world-wide tradition.  I can’t go breaking tradition, now can I? 
I have all the classic symptoms of a Monday:  I tossed & turned my way through a parade of bad dreams last night only to awake and find that my body felt as though I’d slept on a dry river bed.  After almost being late to work and almost running out of gas, I flopped down in my desk chair to stare at my computer.  I told myself that I was practicing my telepathy skill, however I was actually willing my work to complete itself.   
Ambition?  None.  Awake?  Negative.  Coffee?  Not enough. 
I blame it on the fact that my weekend was action packed and my quota for laziness went unmet: 
First there was the Cherry Limeade Incident in which Fisher stuck a straw through a stryofoam cup of Cherry Limeade.  As the Limeade flowed, my sister slung it about the car in an attempt to find a resting place for it.  After much laughing/screaming, it was decided that it should be dangled from the passenger side window to christen  the cars of the drivers behind us.  You’re welcome. 
Next came the Alley Disaster in which Fisher, poor little guy, tripped and landed face first on the pavement.  Tears and blood ensued in what was possibly the most terrifying experience of parenthood thus far.  Thankfully, our neighbors, who witnessed the accident, came to our aid with ice and paper towels to help catch the blood pouring forth from Fisher’s nose.  I was sure he was going to bleed to death.  Wren, my sister, assured me that he would live.  He lived.
That evening my family came together to make caramel apples:  Fun, but stressful when children and molten caramel is involved.  In the end I was the only one to get burned by the caramel.  (Fisher spooned more hot caramel on my fingers than he did on his apple.  Nice) 
Burns aside, it was a sticky, wonderful evening spent with family.  We ate ourselves into misery and waddled home to sleep off the sugar rush. 
I think that Denny enjoyed the apples more than anyone.  He stole the show with apple antics.
3 Responses to “The "M" Word”

  1. Raine October 27, 2009 at 11:48 PM #

    Caramel is the food of the gods…in case you were wondering.

  2. Amy Lynn October 27, 2009 at 9:26 PM #

    Mmmmmm, caramel apples! I am usually not a fan of caramel, but those pictures just made me drool a bit. :)

  3. sherri October 27, 2009 at 12:08 AM #

    It was fun…one of the best nights I've had in a while! The pictures are wonderful….loves!!!

Leave a Reply

