"It smells like strawberries!"

21 Oct

I made mention yesterday about how my job is far from glamorous. That was, quite possibly, the largest understatement of the year.

I have experienced more unpleasant situations than I have ever cared to experience at my job. For the most part, however, they have all been fairly tame. Until today:

A young lady came into my office today to submit a rental application. As I was collecting her required information, she slid a pink, slimy application across the counter to me. She then told me that she had had an “accident” with her application and that she needed another one. Assuming that she had spilled soda on the application, I informed her that I’d be more than happy to hang it up somewhere in the office to let it dry out. She then told me that no, it wouldn’t dry out. Evidently strawberry scented personal lubricant does not dry easily when spilled on paper. (I hate to type such a cliched abbreviation, but OMG!) I replied in, what I hope wasn’t noticeable horror, that she was more than welcome to fill out another application. (Down gag reflex! Down, I say!) Then, with complete disregard for what was sitting on the counter in front of me, she exclaimed, “It smells like strawberries!”

Seriously, folks. That is the definition of Too Much Information.

As the awkward conversation progressed, I noticed that she had not caught on to my reaction. Whew. (Maybe I should start playing Poker) I then took her application fee and sent her on her way.

I cannot possibly keep that application in the folder with the other applications that I am processing. It would taint the entire folder. Thus, it is hanging from a nail on my office wall. I am praying that it will magically dry out overnight so that I can process it tomorrow. No worries. I am bringing medical grade gloves to wear while handling it.

*Gag* Sorry, my stomach starts to churn at the sight of it.

Just let this be a lesson to all mothers out there. Raise your kids to have some common sense. Please, do it for my sake.

4 Responses to “"It smells like strawberries!"”

  1. Wren October 22, 2009 at 1:24 AM #

    I bet it was flavored lube…yum, yum! hahahahaha

  2. sherri October 22, 2009 at 12:38 AM #

    My bad…I spelled odor wrong…

  3. sherri October 22, 2009 at 12:36 AM #

    Dear Lord Jesus…..GROSS! I wonder why she felt like she had to have a personal lubricant that smelled like fruit….what oder was she trying to hide! BTW…they can't possibly pay you enough to do your job!

  4. Whitney October 21, 2009 at 7:21 PM #

    OMG Raine you have got to be kidding! Wow just wow is all I have to say to this post!

Leave a Reply

