Just call me the Warden

19 Oct

I find myself in what I consider to be a very dull version of “Groundhogs Day.”

I am in charge of making sure that Fisher eats the rest of his supper while Jordan, Jaden & Denny go for a walk. Ahh, walks. I remember those. Of course, that was before Fisher decided that he couldn’t swallow meat. (Can anyone say “Chicken Soup for the Vegan Toddler’s Soul”?)
Let me explain:
Jordan, Jaden and myself can eat a meal in a timely manner…and so can Fisher as long as meat is not involved. Once meat hits his soft palate, his gag reflex kicks in and the bouncer that is is uvula blocks the meat from making it’s way to it’s next stop. Just tonight we had another meat show down. Country Fried Steak. Yumness.
Actually, he did show some improvement this evening. It wasn’t until after fifteen minutes of him trying to eat his country fried steak that we had to bust out our Heimlich skills. There is nothing more terrifying than having your child joke in front of you and not being able to get him air instantly. Thankfully, Jordan swooped in to save the evening. Poor Fisher.
So, here I am, making my rounds to ensure that all meat is consumed and not hidden away under mashed potatoes or in the trash can.
At least someone got to go on a walk this evening. (It is a nippy 50-some-odd degrees outside…heaven!)
What’s on the schedule for tomorrow evening? Roast. *sigh*
3 Responses to “Just call me the Warden”

  1. Wren October 22, 2009 at 1:27 AM #

    Grammy's right. Just shove enough beans and peanut butter in him, and he'll be fine. (And his arteries will thank you! Would hate for him to have to come see his Aunt Wren at work someday…) Lubs!

  2. sherri October 20, 2009 at 10:41 PM #

    This is Fisher's Grammy speaking…let the poor thing be a vegitarian if he wants…just make sure he gets his protien elsewhere. He will probably be more healthy than the rest of you. When he's a man he may change his mind…remeber all the things I tried to make you eat….my bad! I love you all…just try it…he may change his own mind later….Loves!!!!

  3. Amy Lynn October 20, 2009 at 5:14 PM #

    Oh dear, that is no fun! Poor Fisher, and Mommy! We haven't started the gagging/choking thing yet. Z just refuses it altogether. Hope it gets better for ya!

Leave a Reply

