All you need is lov…food!

15 Oct
Tonight was a night for food. Yumness. I’ve always been a fan of hot dogs, but tonight I made some of the most heavenly bratwurst…to toot my own horn. *wink* Actually, I didn’t make up the recipe, but I read the instructions like a pro!

For all of you out there who work full time and have kids, you know just how hard it is to cook meals that not only offer variety, but also are affordable and easy to make. That is why I am a fan of E-Mealz.

It is the best thing since sliced bread. (I say that only to meet my “cliched phrase” quota for the week) Cruise on over to the website and take a look. You’ll cry tears of joy….or man tears, if you’re a dude.

So, tonight’s recipe was as follows:

Grilled Bratwurst with Onion Relish

Ingredients:

  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 tablespoon sour cream
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon of sage
  • 1 package of bratwurst (I used Beef Bratwurst)
  • 1 package of hot dog buns

Directions:

  • Combine onion, balsamic vinegar, water, brown sugar and sage in a saucepan.
  • Bring to a boil.
  • Book for 15 minutes over medium heat until the liquid evaporates.
  • Add sour cream & Cover
  • Meanwhile, brown bratwurst in a skillet or on a grill.
  • Place bratwurst in buns.
  • Garnish each bratwurst with onion relish and mustard.

The relish was practically orgasmic, to be completely inappropriate. Okay, maybe not that good, but it was darn tasty at least. The kids even liked it, which is really the only testimony you need to hear.

In other tasty news, my mom & Charles just returned from a trip to Gatlinburg and brought back a sticky treat for the kids:


Mmm, candied apples. There’s a blast from the past. I haven’t had one of those in at least a decade. After sneaking a taste of one of the kid’s, I’ve decided to make my own very soon. I prefer caramel on my apples and would normally shrink away from the idea of making my own caramel. However, while trying to make a cake icing the other weekend, I accidentally ended up with caramel. Don’t ask how, just know that I have skills. ;)

Leave a Reply

