Heard in a Hearse

1 Oct

This morning I was on my way to take Fisher to Pre-K when I pulled up beside a hearse at a red light. I looked over to find two men in suites eating doughnuts and sharing a laugh. Fisher found the situation to be “cooool.” I immediately checked my rear view for headlights. None to be found. Whew.
Once I knew that I wasn’t intruding on a funeral procession, I mulled over what an odd sight the pair beside me where. I guess I’ve always thought that employees of funeral homes must be somber and completely devoid of humor. I’m sure that there’s a stringent application process for the job. No former clowns allowed. But there they sat, eating their breakfast and probably listening to rock-n-roll.
I wonder what conversations have been had in that hearse? I always thought that the interior of a hearse must be full of regrets and tears, but are they sprinkled with care-free times as well? What does one do every day at a funeral home? (Seriously) Do they have office drama like other professions? (“Who ate my egg salad sandwich?!” “Hey, that’s my pen!”) Odd. I find it interesting to think about what is considered to be “normal quirks of the office” may also be normal for the funeral home business as well. (Is that weird of me? Probably, but it is something to consider)
As the light turned green, I pulled away deep in thought while the men beside me drove past in the throws of another joke.
6 Responses to “Heard in a Hearse”

  1. Whitney October 2, 2009 at 5:48 PM #

    I honestly never thought of this! I agree with Amy Lynn, those questions need to be answered!

  2. Raine October 2, 2009 at 12:27 PM #

    I agree. I smell a Dateline Special in the making. :)

  3. Amy Lynn October 2, 2009 at 12:00 PM #

    And I misspelled emotional. Please excuse that. :)

  4. Amy Lynn October 2, 2009 at 11:59 AM #

    I'm not going to lie. I have wondered this very thing several, several times. I mean, seriously. They have no imotional attachment to the people who have passed away… so when they are out of sight/done with the current funeral do they start laughing and cracking jokes about their co-worker that slipped on her way in? Do they make morbid jokes? Are they tasteful? Do they joke about the deceased's clothing or makeup? Someone needs to answer these questions for us!! :)

  5. Raine October 2, 2009 at 2:08 AM #

    Inappropriate at best. ;)

  6. sherri October 2, 2009 at 12:52 AM #

    Cool…I never gave it much thought either about what went on in a hearse….could you imagine you and Wren as the drivers of that hearse….what would the conversation be?

Leave a Reply

