Kayak-thalons

29 Sep

*Groan* This morning dawned much too early. I blame it partly on the fact that I attempted a new sport yesterday, which always spells
M-u-s-c-l-e-A-c-h-e. It was hard to crawl out of bed at 6:30AM…not only because I had put out roots and didn’t want to get up, but also because I just couldn’t get up. My jello-jiggler arms had quite a time pulling the pillow off of my head & almost didn’t get the bed sheet past my feet. *the shame of it all* I know my bulging biceps may look impressive, *cough*, but they’re all bark and no bite. *woof, woof*

So, what put my puppies to shame? Kayaking. *collective “Ahhh!”*

I hadn’t planned on engaging in water sports yesterday morning, but when I go out to my dad’s house, nothing is certain. There is always some kind of adventure waiting to be had and today was no exception:

My dad turned 52 on the 23rd…which could only mean one thing: Birthday party. The family descended upon my dad’s house around 4:00PM, just in time to snatch up some delicious burgers, hot dogs, baked beans and other delectable goodies. We made short work of the savory selections in order to get to the good stuff: the cake.


Ahh…look at that smile. Did you detect the hint of mischief in it? No? Neither did the cake.

Aghhhh!” Poor cake. It didn’t stand a chance.

Once the cake was laid to rest, we all headed down to the pond to take my dad’s new kayak out for a test drive. Everyone took turns and thankfully managed to stay out of the water.
Watching my dad & Fisher paddle around the pond was adorable. Fisher was in love and would have happily stayed out there for the rest of the night.

Jordan was a natural. Check out his form…his poise. Ahh, it is a thing of beauty. *wink*


Jaden
saddled up with Aunt Wren and quickly mastered the paddles.

I eventually made my way out onto the water and took a tour of the pond with Jordan. (…and I only hit one underwater stump! Impressive!)
The day closed on smiling faces. (Albeit, hot & sweaty ones)
Happy Birthday, Dad. It was a day to remember. :)
2 Responses to “Kayak-thalons”

  1. Raine September 30, 2009 at 12:52 PM #

    It was a lot of fun! It's actually pretty steady…if I can manage to not flip over, I think you can make it. :) My dad is silly at times…I guess that's where I get it. *wink*

  2. Amy Lynn September 30, 2009 at 11:22 AM #

    That picture of your dad and the cake made me laugh. :)How fun!!! I have always wanted to try kayaking. But then again I am convinced I would tip. But still! It looks like you guys had a lot of fun!! Love the picture too. Very cute. :)

Leave a Reply

