Bed Head: Not For The Faint of Heart

17 Sep

My hair is short. I know, profound. When I go to bed at night, I sleep like a trap door spider. I belly flop onto the mattress and stick my head under my pillow. Hmm, maybe I’m more like an ostrich. My point is that when I wake up in the morning, my hair is relatively unchanged. The kids, however, are a different story. What do they do in their sleep?!

Jaden wakes up looking like the bride of Frankenstein’s monster. I don’t know if a family of mice are living under her bed and are using her hair as a theme park, but something is going on in there. At breakfast she has to defend her mouth from the wild, mop of hairs as they constantly try to block her spoon full of cereal. To Jaden’s lament, I usually end up having to spend fifteen minutes trying to get her hair back in order and presentable for school. This process involves the curling iron, which Jaden loathes. Have you ever tried to curl the hair of a six year old? No? Lucky. Lets just say it’s like trying to curl the hairs on a badger.

Fisher wakes up looking like Mr. Hyde. I don’t know if you’ve seen Fisher lately, but his hair is pretty darn short….maybe 3/4 inch long. Somehow he actually manages to wake up with a fantastic case of bedhead each day. This morning he appeared to have horns. The kind one would get if a cow had sucked on your head. Yeah, those. He stood in front of the bathroom mirror for ten minutes and tried futilely to squash the hairs back in place, but they wouldn’t listen. (Picture Fisher beating and yelling at his hair in an attempt to get back in place…hilarious) He finally gave up and just accepted the fact that his hair would be wild for the day. It almost suits him. It’s like the excess energy he keeps in reserve is trying to escape through his head. Trying to burst free but unable to do so.

One Response to “Bed Head: Not For The Faint of Heart”

  1. Amy Lynn September 18, 2009 at 3:00 AM #

    LOL. Bed head. Gotta love it. Or not. Zachariah doesn't have horrible bed head yet… but there have been a few times where I have needed to dunk his head in the sink to get his hair back to normal! :)

Leave a Reply

