Ponyo

8 Sep

Jordan and I took Jaden and Fisher to see “Ponyo” today. It hasn’t been advertised much, but it is definitely worth going to see, no matter what age you are. I don’t know as much about Hayao Miyazaki, the director and animator of Ponyo, but I have come to learn that his films are amazing.

I read an article the other day with the teaser title of, “Discover the best animator of all time.” Expecting to click on the link and find the name of an American animator I knew, I was surprised to find Miyazaki had claimed the prestigious title. Isn’t it amazing how we get tunnel vision when it comes to our nationality? I assumed that the best of most media outlets were American. Just last summer, I watched the French, animated film “The Triplets of Belleville” and was blown away by it. It was complete unlike any animated movie I had ever seen, but I absolutely loved it.

Thus, if you’re wanting to expand your horizons, check out Ponyo. You’ll be pleasantly surprised:

Leave a Reply

