These trees won’t keep us down!

1 Sep

I left off yesterday by enthralling all of you with my harrowing tale of riding the open road in a golf cart. Today I’ll pick up where I left off, which was right before the tree climbing expedition. After almost throwing ourselves out of the golf cart while doing doughnuts, Wren & I set out on foot to walk through the acres upon acres of pasture that sits behind my grandparents house. This pasture awakens some of my most vivid childhood memories. Adventures were made and had here. We were chased by cows here…chased by an emu here…boated across the sink hole when it flooded…we were regular Indiana Janes.

(Did I mention that the grass in the pasture was knee high? The entire time we were in the pasture, we were repeating the phrase, “We are SO going to get snake bit!” It’s a comforting thought)

We didn’t have to walk for to get to our first stop, the pond. It is the perfect place to skip rocks or bomb fish with rocks…whichever you choose. ;) Wren & I marveled at the fact that the pond was not nearly as deep as it seemed when we were children. As a kid, the pond seemed to have no end…a bottomless pit where the cows came to drink. Surrounded by blackberry bushes, the pond was the first place you went when making a pie. We love the pond.

Our next stop was the sink hole. Now, this doesn’t sound like an exciting place to visit, but the sink hole is like visiting another world. It’s quite large, about the size of a house, and it is completely enclosed by old, moss filled oak trees. It was our jungle when we were children…and our ocean when it rained. At the edge of the sink hole, Wren and I found the perfect climbing tree. Thinking we were still as limber at 25 as we where at 10, we embarked on a little adventure.


It started off as a great photo opportunity. The low lying branches screamed for someone to sit on them. So we obliged.


Aw…aren’t we cute? Note the un-tree-friendly shoes we are wearing. Thin soled and slippery on any surface other than glue.

Of course, it wasn’t long before Wren got the bright idea to climb the tree. This is when we discovered that something happens to your natural tree climbing skills once you pass puberty. The disappear. Her ascent into the tree was fraught with laughter, cursing and general moaning when the tree limbs stabbed her in all the wrong places. I was on the grounding, dodging cow patties in my barely there shoes, documenting the spectacle of Wren climbing a tree.

After several long minutes, and several dismembered branches, Wren made it to the half way point and settled in for yet another photo op. Hey…with tree climbing skills like these, you can’t pass up the opportunity to document them. Go, Wren!!

4 Responses to “These trees won’t keep us down!”

  1. sherri September 1, 2009 at 2:29 AM #

    I feel like I've just watched one of those movies that make you feel warm and cozy whenever you remember it…Hallmark ain't got nothin on you girls!

  2. Wren September 1, 2009 at 1:42 AM #

    lol As long as the video doesn't make it on here…I wouldn't have been so "colorful" if I knew you were trying to get some live action shots!

  3. Raine September 1, 2009 at 1:31 AM #

    It may pop up yet…muahahaha! :)That was such a fun visit.

  4. Wren September 1, 2009 at 1:27 AM #

    I feel so loved! I kept waiting for a certain picture to pop up in the blog…you know, the one where my mouth is all hanging open and I'm desperately trying to dodge branches and not break my neck! hehe It was a wonderful afternoon :D

Leave a Reply

