Highschool, it’s not for the weak of heart

28 Aug

I discovered something today while I was eating lunch. I had stopped by TJ Maxx on my way home because I had a gift card that was dying to be spent. Unfortunately, I did not find anything worthy of my card during the 5 minutes I was in the store. ;) So I rushed home, hoping that the dark skies overhead would not open up before I got home. (My windshield wipers are substandard to say the least…*wink*) Once I got home and got my fix of Denny love, Jordan & I headed out to Subway…because we like to eat fresh. After waiting far too long for a simple sandwich, we sat down and tried to eat as quickly as possible before I ran out of time. We had just gotten seated when what seemed like half of the Westover High senior class entered to get their sub on. Their close proximity to our table reminded me of how much I hated high school and just how awkward I had felt in high school. I thought the awkwardness and unease was just because of my age at the time I was in high school, but I soon discovered it was any relation to a High School that made me feel that way. Suddenly I was wondering if my hair looked okay and if I had any bread stuck in my teeth. Who knew a group of scrawny, hormonal teenagers could create such anxiety in me. We finished our subs quickly and counted ourselves lucky that we were past that stage in life and we that we were able to escape the judgemental stares of the high school students. Ick.

2 Responses to “Highschool, it’s not for the weak of heart”

  1. Raine August 31, 2009 at 12:58 PM #

    I'm glad I'm not the only one who feels that way. I was telling myself the same thing…I have my own house, car, kids…darn you high school kids! ;)Tell Daniel that I am so please he approves of my title. *wink* :)

  2. Amy Lynn August 30, 2009 at 7:33 PM #

    I am the SAME way! When we are around a youth group I will often assume that the girls will not like me. Therefore I will be very reserved. How crazy is that? I am so much older and cooler than dang high schoolers. They only wish they were as cool as me. LOLP.S. Daniel loves your title for this post. :)

Leave a Reply

