The Best Cookies Ever

9 Aug

Tonight was a night full of family at the Boyd household. (Well, Jaden & Fisher are at their dad’s for the weekend, so they were absent) My mom and Charles usually have Wren & Myself over on the weekends for pizza and dessert…and we’re kind enough to bring along our children and Jordan. ;) This weekend, however, everyone came over to my house. (Since it appears as though I’m the only one out of the bunch that can make cookies from scratch…I have my doubts, but I don’t mind indulging them) Of course, before I could start baking, we had a few things to get out of the way first…like “The Awards Ceremony.”


Remember the picture from last week where Charles was licking Denny? Well, that little gem was too priceless to be left sitting idle on my blog. So, I had it made into a mouse pad, thus memorializing such an amazing feat for all eternity. Congrats, Charles. You have done what we would not….and Denny thanks you for it. :)


Next, my Aunt Donna stopped by to pass out some aprons that my Great Grandmother made by hand. It was perfect timing, since some serious baking was about to be under way. Kudos, Grandma Dills, for such fantastic craftsmanship! (I loved my apron so much, that I later wore it while Jordan and I took Denny for a walk. Gotta show it off to my neighbors, you know)


Once we were properly fitted with our baking attire, we all set to work preparing the dough. Look at my mom, she’s got a fierce pecan chopping face going on…those nuts were shaking in their shells.

Check out my nifty dough dropper thingy…I have no clue what the official name for this gadget is, but the darn thing is my favorite gadget in the kitchen. This was it’s maiden voyage and it performed superbly. I may have an intense demeanor, but just know that I was brimming over with giddiness on the inside.

While we waited for the cookies to do their thing in the oven, my lackeys, I mean Mom & Sister set to work cleaning and putting away dishes. Ah, such a beautiful sight…it warms my soul to see someone else cleaning up my dishes for me. ;)

Once the dishes were back in place, we all sprawled out on the floor to take a rest. Chloe came over to keep me company…sweet little girl.

Ten minutes later the cookies came out of the oven, took a brief rest on the cooling racks & then went straight into our stomachs. We ate the first batch in it’s entirety while we waited for the pizzas to cook. I made several attempts to eat some of the cookies, but I never got to finish a one. I’d take a bite of one, set it down to do something else, and when I would return to eat the rest, I’d find that someone had beaten me to it. Truly sad. No matter, I managed to eat two whole cookies after supper as we crowded around the computer to watch the most ridiculous videos the internet had to offer. That’s family bonding. ;)
3 Responses to “The Best Cookies Ever”

  1. sherri August 9, 2009 at 1:38 PM #

    I look forward to reading your blog everyday….makes me happy. We had a fabulous time last night…the cookies were tooooo good!!!! Love you all..xoxox

  2. Raine August 9, 2009 at 1:27 PM #

    I still have some dough left…I'll make you some.

  3. Wren August 9, 2009 at 3:49 AM #

    I forgot to bring cookies home with me, oh no!!!!

Leave a Reply

