Lettuce, onion and burgers, oh my!

6 Aug

Today passed by without anything truly news worthy until supper time rolled around. (Well, except for the fact that Jaden was the epitome of cuteness once again in her school uniform) *gush of pride*

Anyway, tonight I made Greek Burgers for supper…and I must say that they were fabulous!! (Though, be warned, after making these burgers, your kitchen will have a Greek smell to it for the rest of the evening) While I was fixing up the burgers for the grill, Jordan helped me with getting the toppings ready:

Notice the look of utter bewilderment on Jordan’s face. This did not bode well for the veggies. The butchering of the lettuce and onion was peppered with the phrase, “I don’t know what I’m doing. *siiiiiiiiiigh*”

Denny, of course, was circling Jordan’s ankles like a vulture waiting for something dead to fall from the sky. Unfortunately, the lettuce was not to his liking.

I showed my support for Jordan’s predicament by laughing…it was supportive laughter, don’t get me wrong. ;) The burgers were so utterly fabulous, that I feel compelled to share the recipe with all of you:

Ingredients:

  • 8 Count package hamburger buns
  • 1-2 lbs. ground sirloin/beef (I like sirloin b/c it’s more lean)
  • 2 oz. crumbled feta cheese
  • * For each pound of ground beef/sirloin add: (1/4 cup mayonnaise, 1 teaspoon curry powder, pinch of salt)


Instructions:

  • Fire up the grill. (I used a griddle set on medium heat on the stove top…b/c I need more propane for the grill)
  • Stir together the mayo, curry powder & salt; set aside.
  • Combine the ground beef/sirloin with the mayo mixture and feta cheese
  • Shape into 1/2 inch thick patties and cook.
  • Add any toppings you like: lettuce, red onion, etc…
  • You can even mix up some more of the mayo/curry powder/salt combo. to spread on the bun

We had cole slaw and chips with our burgers, but the you can have what you like. Yum!!

On a different note, I have to show off Jaden & Fisher’s artistic skills. They both sat down at the kitchen table this past weekend to exert some creative energy and made some fantastic art. My fridge/coffee table have never looked better!

Fisher was given a race car piggy bank by his Great Aunt Shelley during our visit to Oklahoma last month…cute, huh? Look at the even brush strokes…the variety of color…ooo, ahh!

That’s right, my Fishman is a lefty. *wink*

However, once Jordan stepped out of the room, the variety of color went out the window. Jordan returned to find this. Hehehe. Jordan asked Fisher why he painted the whole thing red, and Fisher replied by saying, “Because I wanted it to be awesome.” *laugh* :D


Great Aunt Shelley gave Jaden a stamp set, complete with pink and purple ink. We are now the proud owners of the cutest neon pink bear drawing you’ve ever seen. ;)

Leave a Reply

