A day of firsts

5 Aug

Alright, I am officially back online. My week long siesta has not been all that restful or exciting, but I’ll take what I can get. How, you say, could a week off of work not be restful? Well, when you’re stomach is swollen to the size of a pregnant woman who is four months along and you feel like a old man with an enlarged prostate, the days tend to pass by slowly and painfully. There is nothing more degrading than talking to your bladder and trying to coach it back to normal: “Come on, you can do it…almost there!” Got to love the after effects of abdominal surgery. Of course some of the after effects are comical:

I was told that I complimented the recovery nurse about her nice hands….about 1,000 times. I also developed a post-operative stutter when I tried to tell Wren about the negative aspects of a catheter: “My c-c-c-c-coochie hurts.” Nice. Oh, and did I mention that almost everyone in the OR knew who I was? Tenants, past tenants, fellow church members…everyone. I’m so glad that they were all there to share those special moments with me. I’d like to send out a special thank you to the tech’s in the OR who decided to not scrub the yellow DuraPrep off my stomach. That was 30 minutes of scrubbing fun. My flesh blushed with excitiment…or maybe it was just red from being scrubbed too much.

Anyway, enough about that. On to more important topics. Today was Jaden’s first day of First Grade!!

Look at her! Isn’t she cute as can be? Grammy gave her a new hair cut yesterday which made her school uniform look even more adorable.

I love school uniforms. (Though I’m sure she’ll grow to dislike them)


Of course, Jaden had to sneak in a “crazy face.” It’s her favorite pose when she is being photographed. ;)

She woke up excited about school and couldn’t wait to get there. It seemed like 2:30pm got here before we knew it and it was time to pick her up. She blessed us with a 30 minute dissertation about how wonderful school was and even did a little dance to show us her excitement. We couldn’t be more proud. :)
2 Responses to “A day of firsts”

  1. Raine August 6, 2009 at 12:34 AM #

    *laugh* It's ok. I laughed about it too, after I got over my embarrassment. ;)

  2. Amy Lynn August 6, 2009 at 12:16 AM #

    Yay for you being back, and yay for the 1st day of 1st grade! That is so wonderful that she likes school. Oh, and BAHAHA! You said coochie. *snicker* Ok. I am done being a middle schooler now.

Leave a Reply

