There is a creature in our house

30 Jul

Today was very long & busy day. I managed to complete all the work that needed to be done before I’m out of work for a week, recovering from surgery. Plus, I typed up a six page booklet on how to manage the basics of my every day work routine…I’m such a nerd. Needless to say, I was quite excited when I finally got home. What better way to relax than a really hot bath. The kind where I could cook lobsters on the side if I needed to. Hey, you never know. So, I’m soaking in the tub, trying to unwind after a busy day at work, when I hear IT. There is something in our house…or should I say, under our house. I don’t know what it is, but I do know that it has claws of substantial size based off of the noises I heard coming from under the bathtub tonight. Creeeepy. That’s the best time to hear a freakish noise coming from under your bathtub…when you’re shaving your legs. Thankfully, I managed to keep my “jump” reaction under control.

Rewind to other night around midnight: Jordan and I are sneaking about the living room in stealth, soldier mode, in hoodies, blue jeans and tennis shoes. It was the best “critter” gear we could find at the time. Jordan is armed with a shoe, that could barely squash a fly and I am packing a $2, red flashlight….with jiggly batteries. Maybe I’ll blind it and it will die from shock. After systematically sweeping over the area where the noises were heard, we concluded that whatever IT is, it must be in the walls/attic/crawl space. It makes me think of the childrens book Neil Gaiman did called, “Wolves in the Walls.” Geez. Surely we don’t have wolves in southwest Georgia.

Jordan just got back from the San Diego Comic-Con and I was delighted to find out that one of my favorite children’s comics was being going to be featured in an animated adventure. Meet Owly (and wormy):


I cannot express how much Owly and Wormy make me happy. Look at them. They ooze cuteness. *sigh* I am in love. Go to Andy Runton’s website to get better aquainted with your new best friends: http://www.andyrunton.com/

Well folks, that’s it for me. I’ve got to get some beauty sleep, especially since I have to show up to the OR tomorrow sans make-up. *gasp* People of weak consitutions should stand at a safe distnace. ;) I may be offline for a few days, but when I return, I shall regale each of you with my adventures at Palmyra Medical Centers. (Ooo, ahh!)

2 Responses to “There is a creature in our house”

  1. Wren July 30, 2009 at 11:01 PM #

    Well, if you want the real skinny on what happened in the OR today, call me! lol I was there for every loopy, drugged up moment! hehe :D

  2. Amy Lynn July 30, 2009 at 12:06 PM #

    Owly and Wormy are adorable!! I am pretty darn sure I remember them from my childhood as well. I am going to keep my eyes peeled for that. :)Hope you recover quickly! Let me know if you need anything. :)

Leave a Reply

