The Week’s End

27 Jul

Where did the weekend go? I believe it flew by between swimming, a wedding and visiting family. I am going to have to cram the weekend’s events into one post since I got home late last night from a wedding. (Hey, the electric slide cannot be rushed…it is an art) But, I am getting ahead of myself…

Saturday was my Uncle’s birthday, which meant that the entire family gathered at his house for food, fun & swimming. Jaden & Fisher inhaled their food so they could hurry up and wait for their food to digest and get in the pool. Great Uncle John & Aunt Wren hopped in with the kids to supervise and to cool off….mainly to cool off.

Here’s Miss Jaden getting ready for some serious swimming. She reached an epic milestone that day…she swam all by herself without any floats. She was even brave enough to swim to the bottom of the deep end. I was very proud.

Chloe loves the water and had a blast splashing around. (Doesn’t Aunt Wren look cute in her swim suit?)

Up pops Jaden again…she came up for air every so often. ;)

Fisher is taking his time on learning how to swim. He’d rather sit back and relax.

After a while, I headed home with Wren and the kids stayed behind with my Aunt and Uncle. They were kind enough to watch them for me for the night so I could go to my friend’s wedding. Courtney and Joe tied the knot Saturday night and I must say that the ceremony was beautiful! Before I had Jaden & Fisher it was rare for me to muster up a tear at a wedding. Now I have to fight them back from the get-go. Courtney look stunning and just like her mother. I know if Miss Robin were still here with us that she would be so proud/happy. After the wedding we all headed over to the Hasan Temple for the reception which consisted of copious amounts of dessert and dancing. I was smart about the way I planned for the evening. I loaded up on cake, chocolates, etc… and made sure to wear the tallest pair of heels I owned. Mind you, the dance floor was slick, so this was sure to be a night to remember. (rolling eyes) If you know me well, then you should know that heels & I do not mix. Remember how in high school the electric slide was so easy to do? Well, add ten years and somewhere along the way, your body forgets how to do it. No matter, I got out there and shook what my momma gave me anyway. The shoes, however, did not last long. Those puppies got thrown to the way side to make way for some fancy footwork. *wink* I even summoned my inner Elaine from Seinfield and did her special dance. *wince* Yeah, that’s the one. Of course, I could only bare the scrutinizing eyes of the crowd for just a few minutes. Too bad, it was their loss. :)

I finally crawled into bed around 11:00 last night with some sore tootsies, but a lot of fun memories.

Jaden & Fisher spent the night with my Aunt & Uncle, which meant that I didn’t get out of bed officially until 11:30am. It was glorious! Jaden & Fisher finally came back home around 3pm after having had a water gun fight and a trip to the Krispy Kreme…Aunt Glenda & Uncle John really know how to spoil them. ;)

This evening we all headed back over to my mom’s for supper….Charles’ brunswick stew, MMM! Denny came along as always and had a lot of fun too.

Denny just loves Charles. You can see the look of compassion in his eyes. Aw.

…And Charles really loves Denny. *the kind of laughing where you roll around on the floor* Wow. That’s love. It reminds me of the episode of The Office when Angela is caught licking one of her cats. Do it Charles! This is one for the picture frame, for sure.
5 Responses to “The Week’s End”

  1. Wren July 28, 2009 at 12:53 AM #

    Mooooooo!

  2. Raine July 27, 2009 at 7:51 PM #

    That's fine. :) I've been a slack commenter myslef here lately.

  3. Amy Lynn July 27, 2009 at 6:42 PM #

    First off, I want to apologize for being a bad commenter. I have been reading your pots, but slacking on the clicking of the comment button. I will do better. I promise. :)Second off, WREN! I think you look adorable. End of discussion.

  4. Raine July 27, 2009 at 5:48 PM #

    *laugh* I want an 8×10 of the Denny/Charles picture!

  5. Wren July 27, 2009 at 5:41 PM #

    Wow, I look like a total sea cow in that picture! lol But Charles' picture with Denny did make me roll in the floor, gasping for air from laughing too hard!

Leave a Reply

