The Zone

25 Jul

Here we are at the end of another week. Is it me, or are the weeks flying by in an unprecedented rate? I’m sure that weeks were much longer when I was a kid. I guess it’s just a sign of the times.

Day Three of having Jaden & Fisher at work with me went by without a singe hiccup. Jaden & I honed up on our thumb wrestling skills before Chip got to the office. Jaden wanted to make sure that Mr. Chip knew that she was the thumb wrestling queen…once again, Chip didn’t stand a chance. *wink* After Chip was vanquished once again, the kids retreated off to the play room to play and do other things they probably weren’t supposed to do, but weren’t sure, so they did them anyway. ;) I love nothing more than walking into the room to find them staring back at me like deer in a pair of headlights. The ever-so-funny-but-not-really look of, “Does she know what I’m doing, and if so, how do I talk my way out of it?” Thankfully, those moments were few and far between today. I really have to give them kudos. I don’t know if I could have sat that still at there age for a full 8 hours. I am one proud momma. :D

Jaden was busy this afternoon decorating my office for me. At the top left, I’ve got a fabulous rendition of Sandy Cheeks from Bikin Bottom. Doctor Who is featured at the bottom left with a heart floating over his head, because, who doesn’t love Doctor Who? To the right is her latest doodle creation. My daughter doesn’t just draw me hearts with faces and eye lashes, they have antenae as well! Maybe it’s a love bug.

Fisher spent most of the day parked in front of the TV in “The Zone.” Symptoms of being in “The Zone” include a vacant facial expression, unblinking eyes & sudden hearing loss. Well, not so much hearing loss as an extreme case of selective hearing. Usually, I am not a proponent of watching TV all day, but I made an exception while they were at work with me this week.

As for this evening, it’s been much of the same. The kids played in the living room, though it sounded more like an invasion of the Huns rather than Jaden & Fisher playing. Denny hunted down the duster and continued to berate it with bites and vicious aerial attacks. My mom stopped by to fold my laundry for me…hooray! I must say, these hernias are quite the buzz kill, but they have their ups. *wink* Actually, it was much needed and appreciated. Sneezing is enough to double me over, so laundry would probably land me back in the ER. Thus, until I have surgery, my mother is my personal slave…MUAHAHA! (All right, momma, stop rolling your eyes)

Well, I’m about to retire for the evening. Congrats everyone, we’ve made it through another week. :)

Leave a Reply

