Day One without Jordan…A Survivor’s Tale

23 Jul

Ok, so maybe the title of today’s post is a bit over the top, but it’s been a while since Jordan & I have had to do the long-distance thing, and it is hard to get back into that way of life. (striking a dramatic pose with a hand across my forehead) Except this time around he is in California, so that means a 3 hour time difference. (Boo hoo, right?) (Yes, exactly) Anyway, Jordan is off to the International Comic-Con in San Diego and won’t be back until Monday night. If any of you have heard, Jordan has been watching the kids at home this summer. With him in San Diego, the kids are having to go to work with me. (Seriously, could you imagine a more stressful scenerio?) Jaden and Fisher have no concept of time whatsoever, so you can imagine how their first 8 hour work day went. (Hey, is that a white hair I see in the mirror?!) For the majority of the day they were relatively calm and quiet. We went home for lunch and had a picnic on the back patio while Denny ran about the yard, terrorizing leaves and seemingly harmless blades of grass. However, something woke up inside of them around 2pm…something evil…with horns. “MOMMY, THE PHONE IS RINGING!” “Yes, Fisher, I hear it but I’m with a customer and can’t get to it right now.” “BUT IT’S STILL RINGING!” (the longest imaginable sigh ever) “Jaden, my chair is not a merry-go-round.” “Please, for the love of God, do not go near the water cooler again….y’all have sacrificed enough plastic cups for the day.” The most depressing part is that I have two more days of this to go. So, please send your prayer cards to the following address…. ;)

This evening was much more low key. After my trip to the ER on Sunday, I have become quite the invalid, thus my mother has sworn me to lift nothing heavier than a Q-Tip. She and Charles have been so very kind to take care of me while Jordan is away and fixed supper for the kids and I tonight. We inhaled some hamburgers, french fries, grapes and brownies for dessert. (Yum!) Denny tagged along and drooled over the cats that he could see through the kitchen door. Poor guy, he wanted to lick one so bad.

At the moment, the kids are in bed and Denny is trying to kill my duster. He treats it like they are sworn blood enemies. Somehow, I don’t think my $4 Target special is going to make it.


I am observing said massacre over the rim of a glass of Banfi Centine 2006. The jury, which consits of just me, is still out on this one. It’s a blend of Sangiovese, Cabernet Sauvignon & Merlot with 60 % of the blend being Sangiovese. Not a prominent variety here in the states, but quite big in Italy. (Agh! I just tried to take a whiff of the nose and got more than I bargained for…*sneeze*…I don’t think that Robert Parker intended for me to inhale it) Oops. Well, there goes my attempt to sound knowledgeable.

2 Responses to “Day One without Jordan…A Survivor’s Tale”

  1. Raine July 23, 2009 at 5:23 PM #

    Always happy to entertain. ;)

  2. Shauna July 23, 2009 at 5:10 PM #

    Oh yes. You were right, that did quite well, lmao. Hope all goes well this afternoon!

Leave a Reply

